The HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series consists of tournaments held around the world in which men's and women's national sevens teams compete for series points. An overall champion for both men and women is crowned at the end of the season based on points accumulated throughout all of the events. The Blitzboks won the series on four occasions - in the 2008/09 season, as well as back-to-back in 2017 and 2018, and again in 2021 by winning two tournaments in Canada after the series was impacted due to COVID.

The history

The World Rugby Sevens Series is an annual series of international rugby sevens tournaments run by World Rugby featuring national sevens teams. Organised for the first time in the 1999/2000 season as the IRB World Sevens Series, the competition was formed to promote an elite-level of international rugby sevens and develop the game into a viable commercial product. The season circuit consists of 10 tournaments that generally begin in November or December and last until May, and are played in 10 countries on five of the six populated continents. The United Arab Emirates, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, the United States, Canada, Hong Kong, Singapore, France and England each host one event.

There are currently no fixtures available.


27 Sep|Commonwealth Stadium, Edmonton (Canada)

Great Britain 7s

12 - 24

Springbok Sevens

27 Sep|Commonwealth Stadium, Edmonton (Canada)

Canada 7s

14 - 33

Kenya 7s

27 Sep|Commonwealth Stadium, Edmonton (Canada)

USA 7s

19 - 24

Germany 7s

26 Sep|Commonwealth Stadium, Edmonton (Canada)

Ireland 7s

14 - 21

Hong Kong 7s

26 Sep|Commonwealth Stadium, Edmonton (Canada)

Chile 7s

12 - 29

Spain 7s